top of page

God Did Not Make Death

Updated: Jul 21, 2021






Dear Friends,

A couple of weeks ago, we learned through a series of blood tests that our baby was not meant for this earth, and would instead be born into heaven. Thank you for your prayers for our family. The following is a reflection I wrote and posted on social media after the Sunday reading two Sundays ago.

Love, Mark and Katie


“God did not make death, nor does he rejoice in the destruction of the living… but by the envy of the devil, death entered the world.” (Wisdom 1:13, 2:23)


When we were going through our first miscarriage, I cried out to God, and this is how He answered me. The death of my baby was not His original plan. But “by the envy of the devil,” sin entered the world, and death came with it.


“But God, who is rich in mercy, because of the great love he had for us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, brought us to life with Christ” (Eph 2:4-5). He does not leave us there, dear friends. He enters into our lowliness and carries us up to Him.


I’ve heard it said that God’s plan B is better than our own plan A. He proves this to be true in Salvation History. His own plan A gave us life, but His plan B gave us eternal life. Plan A was an earthly paradise, plan B is a heavenly paradise.


This was the first reading at Mass today and it brought me to tears. I couldn’t believe His Providence, to give me these words of consolation and wisdom when I need them most. But that is just how He is, if we open our eyes to it.


Dear friends, rest in this assurance. God did not make death. But He does bring us life through death. Because He’s just that good.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page